Skip to product information
1 of 1

Captain Beefheart

Trout Mask Replica CD

Regular price $16.00 USD
Regular price Sale price $16.00 USD

During 1969, Captain Beefheart (aka Don Van Vliet) and Frank Zappa’s friendship was reaching new heights. FZ signed on to produce Don’s next L.P. project, promising the artist total creative freedom. The result has gone on to become Captain Beefheart’s masterpiece, “Trout Mask Replica,” which has established itself over time as an important and historical work. The basic tracks for most of the album’s main musical compositions were recorded in one single studio session, only made possible by the meticulous and “cult-like” rehearsals of the band for months whilst living together in a house in Woodland Hills, CA.  The album was shunned upon it’s initial release by critics and the public at large, but has proven itself to be hugely influential to many music, movie and television icons such as Tom Waits, Matt Groening and David Lynch to name a few. The album was added to the United States National Recording Registry by the Library Of Congress in 2011, further solidifying the work as one of the greatest albums of all time.

Track Listing:

  1. Frownland
  2. The Dust Blows Forward 'N The Dust Blows Back
  3. Dachau Blues
  4. Ella Guru
  5. Hair Pie: Bake 1
  6. Moonlight On Vermont
  7. Pachuco Cadaver
  8. Bills Corpse
  9. Sweet Sweet Bulbs
  10. Neon Meate Dream Of A Octafish
  11. China Pig
  12. My Human Gets Me Blues
  13. Dali's Car
  14. Hair Pie: Bake 2
  15. Pena
  16. Well
  17. When Big Joan Sets Up
  18. Fallin' Ditch
  19. Sugar 'N Spikes
  20. Ant Man Bee
  21. Orange Claw Hammer
  22. Wild Life
  23. She's Too Much For My Mirror
  24. Hobo Chang Ba
  25. The Blimp (Mousetrapreplica)
  26. Steal Softly Thru Snow
  27. Old Fart At Play
  28. Veteran's Day Poppy